Serica Energy Board

Antony Craven Walker
Antony Craven Walker

Non-Executive Chair

  • A leading figure in the British independent oil industry since the early 1970s, having started his career at BP
  • Founded two British independent oil companies: Charterhouse Petroleum, where he held the post of Chief Executive; and Monument Oil and Gas, where he was Chief Executive and later Chairman
  • Founder member of BRINDEX (Association of British Independent Oil Exploration Companies)
  • Appointed Chairman of Serica in 2004
  • Committees: Nomination & Corporate Governance Committee
Mitch Flegg
Mitch Flegg

Chief Executive Officer

  • Over 40 years’ experience in the upstream oil and gas industry, including positions at Shell and Enterprise Oil
  • First joined Serica in 2006
  • Left Serica to become Chief Executive Officer of AIM-listed Circle Oil plc in 2015
  • Re-joined Serica as CEO in 2017
  • Board member of OEUK, the representative body for the UK’s offshore energies industry
  • Committees: HSE Committee and Reserves Committee 
Andy Bell
Andy Bell

Chief Financial Officer

  • Over 35 years’ experience of upstream finance and systems of reporting and control 
  • Has worked with a wide range of upstream businesses throughout his career
  • Provided financial consultancy to Serica from 2004 implementing systems of internal control and supporting acquisitions, disposals and associated financing 
  • Appointed VP Finance upon signature of the BKR transactions in 2017
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica as CFO in September 2021
Malcolm Webb
Malcolm Webb

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

  • Joined Burmah Oil in 1974 as a legal adviser
  • Held senior legal and management roles at the British National Oil Corporation, Charterhouse Petroleum Plc and PetroFina SA
  • From 2000 to 2004, Director General of the UK Petroleum Industry Association
  • From 2004 until his retirement in 2015, Chief Executive of Oil & Gas UK (formerly UKOOA)
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica in 2018
  • Committees: Nomination & Corporate Governance Committee (Chair), Remuneration Committee
Trevor Garlick
Trevor Garlick

Independent Non-Executive Director

  • Over 35 years' experience in North Sea Upstream operations and development
  • BP Head of Country in Norway 2007 and Regional President for UK and Norway 2009-2016
  • Operator's Co-Chair of the Trade Association Oil and Gas UK 2014 - 2016
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica November 2018
  • Committees: HSE Committee and Reserves Committee (Chair), Sustainability Committee
Kate Coppinger
Kate Coppinger

Independent Non-Executive Director

  • Over 20 years’ investment banking experience primarily focused on providing M&A advice to oil and gas companies
  • Career includes roles at Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, Harrison Lovegrove and most recently as Managing Director at Standard Chartered in the Oil and Gas team responsible for origination and execution of transactions for European clients.
  • Non-executive director of Igas Energy plc
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica April 2020
  • Committees: Audit Committee (Chair), Remuneration Committee
David Latin
David Latin

Independent Non-Executive Director

  • Over 30 years' experience in the Energy sector
  • OMV Senior Vice President for NW Europe, Africa and Australasia (2011-2017)
  • CEO and Chair OMV Norway and Chair OMV UK (2011-2017)
  • Founded First Alpha Energy Capital in 2017, and Talaria Technology in 2021 supporting offshore wind and carbon storage
  • BP holding a number of global/regional business roles (1993-2011)
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica December 2021
  • Committees: Remuneration Committee (Chair), HSE Committee, Sustainability Committee, Reserves Committee, Nomination & Corporate Governance Committee
Jérôme Schmitt
Jérôme Schmitt

Independent Non-Executive Director

  • Over 30 years’ experience in the Energy and Mobility sector, with particular emphasis across Finance, Sustainability and Business streams
  • Career includes roles as Head of M&A and Chief Sustainability officer at TotalEnergies and Chairman of OGCI Executive Committee until 2021 
  • Developed and financed gas value chain projects in Middle East & Asia and created and led the Net Zero Businesses division of TotalEnergies 
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica in July 2022
  • Committees: Sustainability Committee (Chair)
Michiel Soeting
Michiel Soeting

Independent Non-Executive Director

  • Over 30 years’ experience in the audit and financial service sector, 20 of which in oil and gas
  • Former Global Lead partner and Global Head of Energy & Natural Resources at KPMG
  • Extensive financial expertise, strong governance, risk management and regulatory compliance 
  • A Chartered Accountant qualified in both the Netherlands and the United Kingdom
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica in February 2023
  • Committees: Audit Committee, Reserves Committee
Rob Lawson
Robert Lawson

Non-Executive Director

  • Over 30 years' experience in oil, gas and power businesses including Mergers & Acquisitions, Commodity Trading and Corporate Transformation
  • Various roles held at BP over 32 years including Global Head of M&A, Commercial Vice President for BP's Refining & Marketing Segment and Global Head of Gas & Power Trading
  • Executive Vice President and a Group board member of Mercuria Energy since 2023
  • Senior Independent Director for the British American Football Association
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica March 2023
  • Committees: Nomination & Corporate Governance Committee
Guillaume Vermersch
Guillaume Vermersch

Non-Executive Director

  • Over 30 years’ experience in Commodity Banking, Finance and Risk Management
  • Career includes roles at ING Bank and Credit Agricole in Paris and Geneva and as head of the Credit and Finance Risk department of Sempra Oil Trading for Europe and Asia. 
  • Group Chief Financial Officer and a Group board member of Mercuria Energy since 2004
  • Appointed to the Board of Serica March 2023
  • Committees: Audit Committee
Careers at Serica

Find out more about careers at Serica

Come and join us

Read more